Because Brainy Is The New Sexy

I can use many words to describe today – inspiring, relaxing, encouraging, productive, joyous.
My cousin’s board results came out today and he has done unexceptionally well! He has improved so much and has made my family proud. This has inspired and encouraged me to do better too. He aimed for the sky and he has come out with rainbow colours. Now, I need to make sure that I do the same too next year.

I have been working on my biology practical file for the entire day and have been successful in writing over thirty pages. I am nearly done with all the writing.. just two pages left. Then I have to start on all the anatomy diagrams.. I’ve got a whole bunch of them left. Phew!

On another note, I spent my afternoon with my headphones on (and doing project work, of course.. no, I don’t play truant 😛 ) listening to a Bengali album released last year by none other than, Anupam and it was a fresh change. Out of all the eight songs, not a single one of them is about love. It is about society, stereotypes and everything normal that happens in our day to day lives. He speaks out against misnomers and labellings that we give to people without ever thinking twice about it. It was very melodious with lots of classical Indian instruments playing in the backdrop. But a couple of songs have elements of punk rock in them too.

Listening to him was a nice change for another reason. After a long time I listened to a “mature” voice as in not a singer whose song is mainly focused on the teen / early tween generation. He is a mature guy talking about mature things in a slightly sarcastic way directed to the society. It is good.. it is great. I should listen to his other albums too.

My friend, Sonika, mentioned in her blog a few days back that elder people have a lot to offer in terms of knowledge, insight and understanding of this crazed up world. I realized she was indeed correct while I pondered over all his lyrics and their meaning. Elders are cool.. much much much more than you and me.

For the time being, I am going to wrap it up here. I need to go and continue with my practical work. Also, I have to study for a test tomorrow.

Be good everyone. 🙂

11 thoughts on “Because Brainy Is The New Sexy

  1. Sometimes I wish I fluently knew another language, so I could listen to a wider variety of music and actually understand it. And I agree! Elders are full of so much knowledge and wisdom, it’s insane.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

